Largest Temperature

Don’t resent yourself for taking a blind chance.

When I think about it, I realize I don’t know many people who would like to take risks. In 90% of examples, we’re all so terrified of taking blind chances, we overanalyse situations and end up being afraid of any kind of an outcome. I think we need to take chances in order to live a more fulfilling life. That doesn’t mean you need to be reckless, but you don’t have to be uptight either.

I am personally a big overthinker and that is the reason I normally don’t like changes in my life. I am “afraid” of moving to another city, because I don’t know it as well as I know the city I live in. I am “afraid” of meeting new people, because I fear I will get too attached to them. I am “afraid” of living my life, because I know there are some things I just simply cannot predict, even though I love having all the answers in my life. And that right here is the reason I don’t take chances often. I prefer sticking to what I know, instead of trying to get a hold of the unknown.

The reason I am so scared of the unknow is the fact that if I take a blind chance, it’s definitely possible that I will end up feeling disappointed. Thing is – no matter how hard you try, you can’t overanalise your entire life and you definitely cannot predict every possible outcome. However, it’s important to understand that you can’t have all the answers in life and you shouldn’t, either. I am still trying to learn that myself.

Sticking to what you know best seems like the easiest way of living. But doesn’t it become boring at times? Sometimes I seek changes, even though I am afraid of them. Sometimes I wish I could just move, meet new people and restart my life. Sometimes I wish I didn’t know some people, or I wish some people didn’t know me. I am realizing I can’t live in the same environment and know the same people, because I am changing all the time, even if I don’t embrace or love the changes. We have to grow up sooner or later.

And when I take blind chances and they don’t work out the way I would have hoped, I shouldn’t resent myself. I shouldn’t be angry at myself for taking a risk. Bad things can happen in life, but good things can happen just as often. If you fail sometimes, it doesn’t mean that you won’t succeed the next time. If you get angry and fearful so easy, you’ll never be able to fully accept yourself and the changes you need to make in order to live a fulfilling life.

It takes guts to take a risk, especially when you don’t do that often. Remind yourself that. Do something you are afraid of and no matter the outcome – be proud of yourself. You’re making progress.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 21, 2016 by in advice column, psychology and tagged , , , , , , .
