Largest Temperature

Don’t laugh at someone who admits to having a panic attack.

Looking at our society, it’s obvious that we have tons of »tabu topics« that shouldn’t even be tabu topics. We’ve evolved enormously when it comes to technology and even political systems, but a human mind, it seems, will always be a very closed-minded thing.

It happens very rarely that I can openly talk with people about anxiety, sadness, numbness, panic or differently – about happiness, hopes and dreams and inspiration. People sadly almost always wish you badly. If you talk about your positive emotions, they don’t know how to react and they don’t want you being happy. If you talk about your negative emotions, you are »always complaining, depressed«, etc. That’s why I’ve stopped being honest with people who are selfish and draining and it’s the reason why I don’t talk to many people anymore or hang out with them.

Anyhow … No matter what emotion you talk about, you’ll stumble upon people who understand how you are feeling, too, of course. Sometimes you trust someone with your feeling of lonelieness, anxiety and the rest of the feelings that I have mentioned earlier – and they admit they feel the same. But, admitting to someone that you indeed feel those emotions is very complicated and tricky. Couple of months ago, it happened to me for the first time that I had a mini panic attack. A situation I wasn’t prepared for happened and because I am a person who craves control, I started shaking and I had trouble concentrating. Thanfully, that moment didn’t last, but when I admitted to my friend that I had a mini panic attack, she laughed at my face.

And I am not exaggarating. She even said to me – nothing happened that could have triggered my panic. Which, in fact, is one of the craziest things I have ever heard, because … You don’t get to decide what could trigger somebody’s happiness, anxiety, other emotions.

That has got me thinking … Some people experience panic attacks in a lot scarier way, they might last longer and they might happen more often. If a person like that openly lets you know they have panic issues, the last thing you want to do, is laugh at them. It won’t help them. Differently – they’ll feel like you’re mocking them and they probably won’t open up about their mental issues anytime soon. Mental issues and otherwise emotions are controlled easier if we talk about them – if we express them. A human always has the need to share the happiness or the need to cry to a friend when they are feeling down. We need comfort, we need love, we need support.

I didn’t hold a grudge toward my friend for laughing at me when I addmited I had a panic attack, because I didn’t take it too seriously – that issue hasn’t happened to me before or after the incident, so I can easily move on. But, I am asking again, what about the people who feel this way every single day?

Don’t laugh at someone when they are being revealing and honest. It takes crazy courage for people to do that, especially these days when we can count so little people as friends. You don’t have to comfort a person who admits to having a panic attack, but you can assure them they’re safe or ask them what triggered such an activity. You don’t have to be somebody’s therapist, but you can be a human being. Because if anything like this ever happens to you, trust me, you’ll want to have someone to talk about it.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 19, 2016 by in advice column, psychology and tagged , , , , , .
