Largest Temperature

Your morals and values shouldn’t change no matter who your friends are.

Not to sound too dramatic, but I truly feel horrified when I see people act different based on who they spend time with. I know that our comfort zone can change, since mine changes all the time. Given the fact that I am more of an introvert, I am more shy with new people and definitely less talkative. When you know me better, I laugh a lot, I talk all the time and I’m almost always saying weird and “inappropriate” things. That’s just how I am. I get extremely comfortable. However … Of course it takes time for me to get there. So, I definitely understand that your comfort zone affects your behaviour.

I also understand that you can adapt different attitudes toward different people. Some people we love, some people we like … Others we don’t either love or like. Some people we respect, even though we might not like them. Some people we cannot respect, because of the way they represent themselves. It all depends. And I think that based on that relationship that we have with people, our attitude is different. Sometimes, you don’t want to be “too good” toward someone who is going to take advantage of that kindness. It happens to me now and then that I rather build boundaries with people by being completely direct with them, which can come off as rudeness, but in the end of the day, they know not to push me. I’d do everything for the people in my life, I am often extremely unselfish that way. Yet I will not prioritize people who speak evil behind my back. I will not prioritize people who only talk to me when it’s convenient for them and they need my help.

While my comfort zone and my attitude can change based on different people … My morals and values never do. If I build boundaries, those apply to everyone. If I promise you something, I’m definitely going to respect that promise. And … Most importantly … If I feel toward someone a certain way, that doesn’t change. No matter what, no matter who.

I know people who might disagree with that policy. People, who … Say one thing to you and another thing to somebody else. People who are letting you know that they don’t either like or respect somebody, but at the end of the day, they run toward them and act as if they never said anything evil about them.

And that’s … Hipocrisy. You’re being a hypocrite if you’re spending time with people you don’t like or doing things you SAID you don’t like. You cannot be a completely different person based on who you spend time with. Your personality should always stick with you.

I feel like I am getting too mature to deal with such hipocrisy, lies and multiple personalities, just waiting to see which personality is getting revealed next. That’s too much drama to me. And I feel like I don’t need it in my life.

8 comments on “Your morals and values shouldn’t change no matter who your friends are.

  1. lexorknightrider
    May 21, 2017

    Oh honey you haven’t seen nothing yet. But you are on the right track. The older you get more shenanigans you’ll see.😕

    Liked by 1 person

    • largesttamara
      May 21, 2017

      I know, it’s a shame that we find these kind of things normal, though 😔

      Liked by 1 person

      • lexorknightrider
        May 21, 2017

        I always revert back to my parents and their time in life and people were civil toward each other and had respect.

        Liked by 1 person

      • largesttamara
        May 21, 2017

        I do the same thing! I keep thinking how many things have changed. The priorities are different and people act so differently. I often say I was born in the wrong era!

        Liked by 1 person

      • lexorknightrider
        May 21, 2017

        I know exactly how you feel.

        Liked by 1 person

      • lexorknightrider
        May 21, 2017

        You’re mature and have insight so you look at the world through a different lens.

        Liked by 1 person

      • largesttamara
        May 23, 2017

        It’s funny just how different insights can be! And thank you for always reading my posts, it means more than I can explain! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • lexorknightrider
        May 23, 2017

        Your welcome!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 21, 2017 by in psychology and tagged , , , , , , , .
