Largest Temperature

I’m allergic to empty promises.

While I do not get hurt easily, there’s one way to completely tamper with my emotions and that is by giving me an empty promise.  I’ve heard a ton of them! At first, I was always hopeful that those promises would stick. And now, with time … I find myself being doubtful of nearly everything that people promise to me.

It doesn’t matter how big or small the promise is. Even if a person only says “Thank you for sending me this school assignment, I’ll buy you coffee sometimes!” and they totally and completely ignore the “promise”, it hurts. It’s not about the money! It’s also not about the fact that I would be a greedy person and I’d expect favours for every single thing that I do for somebody else. It’s about honoring what you say. If you promise me something, I expect you to live up to that promise. I’d rather have you be quiet and not promise me anything than say something and ignore it. To me, broking a promise is the same way as lying to somebody, and I simply cannot accept such behaviour from anybody.

I always make sure that I do not give empty promises. It happens once or twice that I feel completely cornered and without thinking an answer through, I just blurt it out “Yeah, I promise.” And I don’t mean it … And it bothers me that I don’t mean it, straight after I said it. Because I personally feel like it is my duty to be honest toward people I love. And I also feel like I shouldn’t give them false hope, whatever the promise was.

And … Even though I might not mean it, when I promise you something, I make sure I carry the promise out, even if it’s hard for me for whatever reason. If I say I’ll meet up with you after school and I don’t feel like doing it, because I am tired or something like that … I pull myself together and do it anyway. Because loving somebody means making compromises. If it makes them happy, that’s all that matters to me. Also, I shouldn’t have promised something if I didn’t mean to follow it through, so this is my mistake and I should be the one to embrace the “consequences”.

If you cannot stick through a promise, you should at least let the person know. “Sorry, I cannot take you to coffee this week, because I don’t have any money.” Or … “I know I said we’ll go out today, but I am really stressed out because of school and I don’t feel like doing it.” That’s alright. As long as you’re being truthtful, no real friend will hold it against you. I know I wouldn’t.

Otherwise, people might start doubting everything you say. Just like I doubt people who gave me fake promises, because I am quite sure that’s not the only thing they lied to me about.

11 comments on “I’m allergic to empty promises.

  1. Tony Single
    May 28, 2017

    I’ve found that it’s standard procedure for people to give me empty promises. It must be enshrined in law or something. I can relate.

    Liked by 2 people

    • largesttamara
      May 29, 2017

      I honestly had a feeling like I was the only one! I wish neither of us was struggling with this issue, but hey … At least we’re in it together!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Tony Single
        May 29, 2017

        Agreed! I think it’s nice to know this too! It gets wearing thinking you’re the only one this sort of thing happens to! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • largesttamara
        May 30, 2017

        Exactly! I find comfort in knowing that I’m not “alone” 🙂

        Liked by 2 people

      • Tony Single
        May 30, 2017

        YAY! Let’s link arms and skip off into the sunset! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      • largesttamara
        May 31, 2017

        Hahaha, this sounds awesome! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Hussein Allam
    May 31, 2017

    There are enormous number of people do this attitude unfortunately, they promise, but they did not get sticked of what they said, as you said earlier, it is not about money, but it just about why they do that, I got suffered from those people, it seems that these kind of people are everywhere, as these number of people are staggering, they are selfish and greedy too sadly. Thanks for sharing, it seems that I am not the only one who suffer. Great post! 🌹

    Liked by 1 person

    • largesttamara
      May 31, 2017

      Thank you! For the comment and for the compliment 🙂
      I completely agree with you, they’re selfish and greedy and often … They’re liars, too. I try not to surround myself with these kind of people, as I am all about positivity and growing! But … It can be hard. It’s easier when you know you aren’t alone, though 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Hussein Allam
        May 31, 2017

        What you do is what I do, I try to keep myself away of these people, therefore, they make me nervous. They are not any ever worse than that, they are very bad. Big liars you are totally right. 🙂, thanks for being you, and honest is one of your aspect, keep it up. Great work!👍

        Liked by 1 person

      • largesttamara
        May 31, 2017

        Exactly! And truly – thank you, the same thing goes to you 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Hussein Allam
        May 31, 2017

        Thank you too!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 28, 2017 by in psychology and tagged , , , , , , .
