Largest Temperature

Let’s not glorify being distant.

I’ll admit I can get quite distant when I am feeling hurt, sad, angry … Sometimes I just don’t feel like talking about my emotions, because it doesn’t seem like talking about them will solve anything. That normally happens when a relationship with a person just isn’t fulfilling anymore and doesn’t bring me any happiness/salvation. I start giving up on people, because it seems like neither of us enjoys the relationship anymore.

Having said that, I still don’t glorify being distant. I think there is beauty in being honest about how you feel, being vulnerable and yourself. I think there’s beauty in being close to people. And there’s beauty in letting them see the real you. If you feel safe about that, of course. If you feel like you can act that way.  And if it seems worth of you and your energy.

Getting distant toward people should be the last exit out, and even then … It’s a bad solution. It won’t bring you peace, that’s for certain. If anything, you will be left in darkness, because you won’t get any answers on your questions and they won’t, either. You’ll never fully understand what happened between you and that person in your relationship. And if they meant anything to you, you will forever regret acting the way you did and not being more mature.

All in all, I’m personally 18 years old and I should accept the fact that I cannot be as mature for my age as I’d sometimes like. I make mistakes, but I can at least learn from them and work from here on out. So, don’t be hard on yourself. No matter how old you are – if you have acted distant toward somebody, I am sure you have done it for a reason. Maybe you just wanted to shield yourself from getting hurt. I know I did, countless of times, with many friends. It’s important that we understand our decisions and while we shouldn’t glorify them, we also shouldn’t be ashamed of them.

All of our decisions – may they be good or bad – have helped us shape into a somebody. If at the end of the day you can be proud of who you are, you have succeeded in life. If you cannot … You still have time to fix that. Time and hope are our friends, we just sometimes forget that.

Let’s glorify being close to people! Let’s glorify being full of kidness, positivity, appreaciation … When we learn to love and respect people, we can truly grow. And we can learn how to be happy.

7 comments on “Let’s not glorify being distant.

  1. thegirlwholikestostare
    June 7, 2017

    When I was your age I romanticized being cold and distant, stoic I guess. Most likely because I’ve always been an emotional train wreck. At some point I accomplished it, but you’re right. Being distant is great when you just grow apart from people or when being close will hurt you more than anything, but being open and loving and close is so much more fulfilling.

    Liked by 1 person

    • largesttamara
      June 7, 2017

      Thank you so much for sharing! Just a year ago, being distant toward people was my haven. Now I find myself being happier than ever by being honest and true. It’s definitely more fulfilling!

      Like

  2. Hussein Allam
    June 9, 2017

    Paradise without people is useless. Great positive share. Tamara!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. brianray11
    June 26, 2017

    I can relate. The problem is it becomes a trap. We dont want to be distant, but it comes so easy when things get hard. Its the relationship equivalent of not dealing with the issue causing the distance. I loved your post, such insight from someone that claims they cant be as mature as they would like. I think you are showing great maturity and depth.

    Liked by 1 person

    • largesttamara
      June 27, 2017

      I find a lot of beauty in this comment, because you’ve said everything that I’m thinking about! It’s definitely easier to ignore problems and simply become distant, without giving any explanation. And thank you so much!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 7, 2017 by in psychology and tagged , , , , , , .
